Justin Jefferson of the Vikings among the AP NFL MVP finalists

Justin Jefferson, Jalen Hurts and Patrick Mahomes are finalists for the Associated Press’ 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year awards.

Winners will be announced at the NFL Honors on February 9. A national panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting before the playoffs began.

Bills quarterback Josh Allen and Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow are also finalists for MVP.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 receiving yards in his third season with the Minnesota Vikings. Jefferson was one of two unanimous AP All-Pro picks along with Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce.

Hurts had 3,701 passing yards, 760 rushing yards, and a combined 35 touchdowns, leading the Philadelphia Eagles to a 14–3 regular season record and the #1 seed in the NFC. The Eagles (15-3) are in the NFC championship game for the second time in six seasons.

Mahomes, the 2018 NFL MVP, helped Kansas City go 14-3 to earn the #1 seed in the AFC. The Chiefs (15-3) are in the AFC title game for the fifth straight season. They will host the Bengalis. Mahomes led the NFL with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He received 49 of 50 votes for AP First-Team All-Pro.

San Francisco 49ers edge rusher Nick Bosa, Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones and Dallas Cowboys edge rusher Micah Parsons are finalists for AP Defensive Player of the Year.

Bosa led the NFL with 18 1/2 sacks, Jones had 15 1/2 and Parsons had 14 1/2.

Brian Daboll, Doug Pederson and Kyle Shanahan are finalists for the AP Coach of the Year award. Daboll led the New York Giants to a 9-7-1 record in his first season as head coach. Pederson guided the Jacksonville Jaguars to a 9-8 record and an AFC South title in his first year with the team. Shanahan led the San Francisco 49ers to a 13-4 mark, including 5-0 down the stretch with third-string rookie quarterback Brock Purdy.


Purdy, Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III, and New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson are finalists for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Purdy, the last player selected in the draft, began the season as a third-string QB and stepped in after injuries to Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo. He led San Francisco to a 5-0 record down the stretch, two playoff wins, and an appearance in the NFC Championship game in Philadelphia.

Walker led all rookies with 1,050 rushing yards and nine TDs. Wilson led all rookies with 83 catches and 1,103 receiving yards.

Jets cornerback Ahmad “Sauce” Gardner, Detroit Lions defensive end Aidan Hutchinson and Seahawks cornerback Tariq Woolen are finalists for AP Defensive Rookie of the Year.

New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley, 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey and Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith are finalists for AP Comeback Player of the Year.

Lions offensive coordinator Ben Johnson, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen are finalists for AP Assistant Coach of the Year.

This was the first year for the PA’s new voting system. Voters chose the top 5 for MVP and the top 3 for all other awards. For MVP, first place was worth 10 points. The marks from second to fifth place were worth 5, 3, 2 and 1 points.

For all other awards, first place was equal to 5 points, second place to 3 and third place to 1.

CHECK OUT: See the 100 Most Popular Brands in America